55 Norton Students Eligible for John and Abigail Adams Scholarship

The Department of Education and Secondary Education announced that 18,261 students in the Class of 2012 awarded overall.


The Department of Education and Secondary Education announced that 18,261 students in the Class of 2012 have been awarded the John and Abigail Adams Scholarship, qualifying them to receive free tuition at any Massachusetts public college or university. This includes 55 seniors from Norton High School.

“I think these 55 students need our sincere congratulations,” said superintendent Dr. Patricia Ansay at Monday's School Committee meeting. “I know they are going to go far. And we wish them luck.”

The 18,261 total is an increase over last year’s 227 students. Students become eligible for this merit-based scholarship based on their performance on the grade 10 MCAS English Language Arts and Mathematics tests. To qualify, a student must score in the Advanced category on one exam and either the Proficient or Advanced categories on the other, and have combined scores from the MCAS ELA and Mathematics tests that place them in the top 25 percent of students in the graduating class in their district.

“The Adams Scholarship is a prestigious award, and these students should be very proud of their hard work and commitment to educational excellence and high standards,” said Elementary and Secondary Education Commissioner Mitchell D. Chester. “Our collective goal is to ensure that all students graduate ready for success beyond high school. I am pleased to congratulate this year’s student recipients and wish them well as they pursue higher education.”

Higher Education Commissioner Richard M. Freeland agreed.

“Massachusetts need the Adams Scholars’ drive and talent as we continue to grow our state’s knowledge-based economy,” Freeland said. “Whether a student wants to build websites or skyscrapers, study medicine or music, they will find a rich and varied array of programs and opportunities at Massachusetts’ 29 public college and university campuses. We welcome the Adams Scholars to our community colleges, state universities and the University of Massachusetts.”

The Adams Scholarship provides a tuition waiver for up to eight semesters of undergraduate education at a Massachusetts state college or university. The scholarship covers tuition only; fees and room and board are not included. The scholarship must be used within six years of a student’s high school graduation.

Scholarship eligibility is based on each student’s first attempt at taking the grade 10 MCAS tests in ELA and Mathematics. In order to receive the scholarship, a student must be enrolled in a Massachusetts public high school in his or her senior year. Students who qualify for the scholarship will receive award letters and further information this fall.

In order to continue receiving the Adams Scholarship, a student must continue to enroll full-time at a public higher education institution, maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.0 on college work and annually complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid.

The Adams Scholarship is the state’s only merit-based tuition waiver program, and was established to help families pay for college, create an incentive for students to push themselves academically, and encourage them to pursue higher education in Massachusetts.

Norton High School students eligible for the scholarship are:
Brian Christopher Acker, Anthony Bernardo Berardi, Briana Lynn Betts, Ashley Joseph Bortolotti, Erica Lynn Callahan, Kolin Kent Campbell, Max Cantin, Allison Mary Capprini, Michelle Julian Carignan, Hannah Jean-Asp Chisholm, Ryan James Consentino, James Francis Cuneo, Brandon David Deal, Joseph Christo Dilorenzo, Tyler James Durocher, Ryan Matthew Economou, Meagan James Elliott, Julia Candace Fairbanks, Kady Marisa Ferguson, Jared Fitch, Eric Harris Forman, Samantha Ewing Gaglio, Cameron Nathan Hale, Brittany Ann Harnedy, Cassandra Anne Hynes, Stephen Paul Hynes, Taryn Michelle Kitchen, Hannah Marie Lavendier, Elizabeth A. LaVerghetta, Peter Van Le, Stacie Ann Linfield, Marisa Doane Lucier, Kristen Amy MacGray, Neeve Frederic MacGregor, Parke McCrady Maclean, Ian McGrath Mallor, Jared Robert Marvel, Brandon Robert Moreau, Amanda Bailey Murphy, Panayiotis Nikol Nikolos, Patrick Sean O’Malley, Sara Pishdadian, Matthew Thomas Remick, Kevin Duross Rogers, John Joseph Royle, Amanda Leigh Schleicher, Kimberly Ann Schubert, Joel Rickard Sitte, Amanda Lee Sullivan, Kristen Hannah Tenglin, Jacqueline Rose Toomey, Chelsi Nicol Varney, Dalton Timothy Weir, Christopher Michae White and Joshua Martins Willis.

For more information, visit the Department’s website. www.doe.mass.edu/mcas/adams.html.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »