Norton Selects Bielat, Kennedy

Unofficial primary results for the Town of Norton.

Norton voted in line with the rest of Massachusetts during the congressional primary Thursday, Sept. 6, casting their ballots for Democrat Joseph Kennedy III and Republican Sean Bielat.

According to the unofficial results supplied by Town Clerk Danielle Sicard, Kennedy walked away with 455 votes against fellow democrats Rachel Brown who earned 41 and Herb Robinson who garnered 10. While Bielat nabbed 421 votes, Republicans David Steinhof had 96 and Elizabeth Childs had 24.

U.S. Senate incumbent Scott Brown received 538 votes to Democrat Elizabeth Warren’s 464.

For the contested second district Democratic Councillor race, Bart Timilty received the majority of votes at 197. He beat out Robert Jubinville who had 129, Brian Clinton who garnered 57 and Patrick McCabe who obtained 44. The sole Republican nominee Earl Sholley received 432 votes.

While Sicard had hoped that 12 percent of voters would make it to the polls, 1,072 cards were cast, which is about nine percent of the voting population. Brian McNiff, spokesperson for Secretary of State William F. Galvin, told Boston.com that Galvin projects the voter turnout statewide to be in the “low teens.”

The general election is Nov. 6.

The votes went as follows:

Position Name Votes Democratic Representative in Congress Joseph P. Kennedy III 455 Democratic Representative in Congress Rachel E. Brown 41 Democratic Representative in Congress Herb Robinson 10 Republican Representative in Congress Sean Bielat 421 Republican Representative in Congress David Steinhof 96 Republican Representative in Congress Elizabeth Childs 24 Republican Senator in Congress Scott P. Brown 538 Democratic Senator in Congress Elizabeth Warren 464 Republican 1st Bristol County Representative Fred “Jay” Barrows 279 Republican 4th Bristol County Representative Steven Howitt 197 Democratic 4th Bristol County Representative A. Keith Carreiro 166 Republican Senator in General Court Jeffrey R. Bailey 423 Democratic Senator in General Court James E. Timilty 422 Republican Councillor Earl H. Sholley 432 Democratic Councillor Bart Andrew Timilty 197 Democratic Councillor Robert L. Jubinville 129 Democratic Councillor Brian M. Clinton 57 Democratic Councillor Patrick J. McCabe 44 Democratic Clerk of Courts Marc J. Santos 387 Democratic Register of Deeds Barry J. Amaral 388 Democratic County Commissioner Paul B. Kitchen 292 Democratic County Commissioner John R. Mitchell 276 Democratic County Treasurer Christopher Saundei 381
Roger September 09, 2012 at 01:16 PM
Well it looks like the Kennedys are at it again .The family business, Come on


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »